

Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association

Officers President

David E. Moore, Longview

President-Elect

Mark Snodarass, Lubbock

1st Vice President

Kerri Anderson-Donica, Corsicana
2nd Vice President

Grant M. Scheiner, Houston
Treasurer

Michael Gross, San Antonio

Secretary

Heather J. Barbieri, Plano Editor, Voice for the Defense

Editor, Voice for the Defense Sarah Roland, Denton

Editor, Significant Decisions Report
Michael Mowla, Cedar Hill
Immediate Past President

Executive Director

Joseph A. Martinez, Austin

Directors

Chris Abel, Flower Mound Susan E. Anderson, Dallas Jorge Aristotelidis, San Antonio Marjorie Bachman, Austin Roberto Balli, Laredo Robert J. Barrera, San Antonio Curtis Barton, Houston Rick Berry, Marshall Kristin Brown, Dallas Anne Burnham, San Antonia Jim Darnell Sr., El Paso Danny Easterling, Houston Donald H. Flanary, San Antonio Casie Gotro, Houston Rusty Gunter, Lubbock Keith S. Hampton, Austin Melissa L Hannah Lufkin Steve A. Keathley, Corsicana Susan Kelly, Waco Laurie L. Key, Lubbock Adam L. Kobs, San Antonio Thuy Le, Houston Bradley K. Lollar, Dallas Louis Elias Lopez Jr., El Paso Hiram McBeth, Dallas Nathan L Miller Houston Audrey Moorehead, Dallas Michelle Ochoa, Beeville Anthony C. Odiorne, Burnet Patrick O'Fiel, Kerrville Scott H. Pawgan, Conroe Oscar O. Peña Laredo Carmen Roe, Houston Jeremy Rosenthal, McKinney David Ryan, Houston Frank Sellers, Dallas Jessica Skinner, San Angelo John Hunter Smith, Sherman Monique Sparks, Houston Courtney Stamper, Waxahachie Mark Thiessen, Houston Gregory Allen Waldron, Longview

Associate Directors

Frank Brown, San Angelo Jason Cassel, Longview Brian Eppes, Fort Worth Rick Flores, Austin Ruth Gomez Serra, Brownsville Heather Hall, Fl Paso John Torrey Hunter, San Antonio Kelly Pace, Tyler George Roland, Denton Jed Silverman, Houston Stephanie Stevens, San Antonia Seth Sutton, Waco Paul Tu, Houston Michelle Simpson Tuegel, Waco Michael Ware, Fort Worth Thomas Wynne, Dallas

TCDLA founded in 1971

Dear Members,

Many of our brothers and sisters up and down the coast have suffered devastating losses in the wake of Hurricane Harvey. With their offices and homes damaged or destroyed, they are struggling to regain some semblance of normalcy and their capacity to continue to defend the citizen accused.

At TCDLA, we formed a committee to explore how we can best assist our members and other fellow criminal defense lawyers in their time of need. The Hurricane Harvey Lawyers Relief Fund Committee, chaired by Danny Easterling, is comprised primarily of members from the Harvey-affected area. Our local affiliates from the region are represented on the committee by their presidents. In short order, we have come up with a variety of excellent suggestions as to how TCDLA can help alleviate some of the burdens that this historic storm has placed on our fellow criminal law practitioners.

In an effort to immediately implement a portion of those plans, last Friday we established a page on the TCDLA website to receive donations to help us in this worthy endeavor. These are two ways that you can give.

First, you may make cash donations. Those donations will be used for legal education through scholarships and to replace lost legal publications and educational materials.

Secondly, we are collecting donated gift cards which will be distributed through our TCDLA affiliates in the affected areas to our brothers and sisters identified as having been impacted by Harvey. Those gift cards are intended to assist those affected to meet their immediate needs in getting their practices back up and going.

You may access the donation page by clicking on this link www.tcdla.com/harvey. Please visit the page for more details about the donation options. Also, if you need assistance, or if you know a colleague who does, please contact Danny Easterling at eaepc@swbell.net, another committee member, or contact the TCDLA home office.

TCDLA stands firmly committed to help our fellow members in their time of need. Please join us in that commitment by donating today.

Very truly yours,

David Moore TCDLA President